Meet the Staff

Jon Jensen

Director, Center for Sustainable Communities

Jon Jensen is a faculty member in Environmental Studies. Jensen has been a member of the board of directors for AASHE and on the steering committee for UMACS (the Upper Midwest Association for Campus Sustainability). He works to promote sustainability in the curriculum at Luther, in the Midwest, and throughout the country and teaches courses on Environmental Philosophy, Food and the Environment, Environmental Leadership, and Sustainable Communities. He holds a PhD in Philosophy from the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Chris Frantsvog

Sustainability Coordinator

Chris Frantsvog is the Sustainability Coordinator for the Center for Sustainable Communities. A longtime sustainability enthusiast, Chris began the Winneshiek County recycling program and coordinated it for over a decade. He has held positions with Polk County, Iowa (Des Moines) in sustainability and public health. He is also a practicing spiritual director and a tree farm owner/operator. Chris received a BA in English from Luther College and a Master of Public Administration from Drake University.

Olivia Helland

Sustainability Fellow

Olivia Helland is the Sustainability Fellow at the Center for Sustainable Communities. As a Luther student she was able to create sustainability education for the surrounding community, and is now in the role of guiding and mentoring current student educators. Olivia is always looking to grow as a mentor and is very excited about youth leadership opportunities. She has a deep passion for the natural world, and loves being able to participate in and lead outdoor recreation. Olivia received a BA in Environmental Science and Nordic Studies from Luther College.