Search Committee

To facilitate our search for Luther College's 11th president, the Board of Regents has appointed a Presidential Search Committee consisting of regents, faculty, staff, and students.

The committee, chaired by Board of Regents Vice Chair Bob Paulson, ‘78, consists of:

Board of Regent representatives

  • Bishop Michael Burk, Southeastern Iowa Synod of the ELCA
  • George Kuh, Luther class of 1968; regent emeritus; professor emeritus, Indiana University
  • Sandee Joppa, Luther class of 1987, human resources executive, Joppa Consulting, LLC
  • J. Robert Paulson, Jr., Luther class of 1978, president and CEO NxThera, Inc.
  • Connie Plaehn, Luther class of 1975, retired investment executive, J.P. Morgan
  • James Thomsen, Luther class of 1986, president of Thrivent Holdings, Thrivent Financial
  • Judy Vijums, Luther class of 1988, managing director, HCI Equity Partners

Faculty representatives

  • Anne-Marine Feat, associate professor, French; chair, division of Humanities and Fine Arts.
  • Steve Holland, professor, economics; department head of economics, accounting and management
  • Novian Whitsitt, professor, Africana studies and English; department head of Africana studies

Staff representatives

  • Alex Smith, Luther class of 2003, associate athletic director for operations and facilities
  • Amy Wrightsman, Luther class of 2001, director, budgeting and internal control 

Student representative

  • Janet Irankunda, Luther class of 2019, student senate president, music major

Each member of the Presidential Search Committee has signed a Code of Ethics that, among other things, pledges to respect the confidentiality of all candidates.

The executive search firm Storbeck/Pimentel, which specializes in higher education and has an impressive track record with presidential searches, will aid Luther College in our presidential search.